remember, it's spelt with double U's!

 

Brrrr! A cold wind is blowing, bringing with it buckets and buckets of snow. At this rate, it looks like we’ll get snowed in!

Luckly, we’ve just recieved a brand new shipment of coffee to try. We ~LOVE~ tastetesting!
Wanna help? Free drinks and cookies!
Lets go! ~itadakimasu!

2011 Winter Anime Menu:

The choices this anime season seems to lean towards the genres of Magical Girl,  and Romance, perfect for warming up those cold hands (and hearts).
Lets take a look at what the wind has blow in!
Thus, in order of release date:
PS: hover mouse over trailer to read synopsis


P U E L L A    M A G I    M A D O K A    M A G I C A
Release Date: January 6th 2011
Company: Shaft  (Hidamari Sketch, Bakemonogatari, etc)

Genres: Magical Girl

Pretty animation, good music, judging from this trailer, I would think that this anime is something pleasing for the eyes to look at, as expected from SHAFT. The may character has a huge resemblance to Amu Hinamori from Shugo Chara appearance wise (though the art differs) – her  pink hair, yellow PJs, even the angel at which her room is captured in the trailer. Just replace that curtain opening part of the trailer and replace it with a milk drinking one and I wouldn’t be able to tell the difference.
As with all mahou shoujos, what to expect are transformations, fighting evil with good, friendship and love. It’s not really my kind of anime, for I need more in my stories than magical girls fighting with bad guys, or dealing with their personal and interpersonal problems. I could be prejudging this anime wrongly due to my not-so-great experience with Shugo Chara!. I’m planning to watch the first few episodes and see if it interests me or prove me wrong.
Rating: ★★★(out of 5)
Following: Maybe

HAHA! I’m addicted to SHAFT productions so no matter what they throw at me, I’ll accept it! I already love the trailer, it doesn’t look like your average fluff from magical girls, but expect much more. You two are just trying to discriminate magical girls aren’t you? Lemme tell you, SHAFT won’t let it just become a mainstream mahou shoujo, there will definitely be twists….DEFINITELY.
It does remind me of Hidamari Sketch, that is because Aoki Ume-sensei did the character design! So if you liked the art in Hidamari, you’ll love this too. I know I do!
Rating: ★★★★★ (out of 5)
Following: OF COURSE!

Looks like a blend between the cute and fluffiness of Yaya from Shugo Chara mixed together with the lovable art of Hidamari Sketch. No surprise factor for the anime plot itself though, since almost all Magical Girl animes follow the same main plot. Expect the same set of heroines too (the loli one, the matured one, the strong one who’s good at sports, and the shy, quiet one) in one form or another.
However, its Shaft. Shaft is Awesome. As an added bonus, Yuki Kajiura’s Kalafina is in charge of most of the music. Need I say more?
Rating: ★★★★ (out of 5)
Following: YES!

[space]

G O    S I C K
Release Date: January 7th 2011
Company: Bones (Fullmetal Alchemist, Darker than Black, etc)

Genres: Comedy, Horror, Romance, Mystery

WOW. This trailer captured my attention right off the bat. The visual aspect of GoSick is without a doubt clean and well animated, as expected from BONES. The story itself appeals quite a lot to me too – a mix of romance, mystery, comedy, and horror, which I don’t really mind if its not overwhelming. I am definitely expecting great episodes from this anime… If the anime is as good and captivating as the trailer, then it will definitely be a worthwhile watch.
Rating: ★★★★★ (out of 5)
Following: Yes

This is based off of a light novel series of the same name. Now I went a head and read the manga, kinda know what to expect, but you guys should definitely expect some good things coming from this one (according to my very biased opinions). As an avid fan of gosu rori, I love what they did with the art and mystery has always been my top genre.
Rating: ★★★★★(out of 5)
Following: Yesh

This anime has me in tears! I’m attracted by the pretty visuals (D’awww! So Pwitty!) but I can’t bring myself to watch it because I’m too much of a scaredy cat (I envy you two! Being able to watch this…. *sniffle*). I can’t function properly under the stress of Mystery and Horror. Gomenasai!
Art wise, the anime (no I have not seen the full trailer because I’m a scaredy cat) reminds me of Rozen Maiden: gothic and frilly. The OP and ED are both a little on the slow side, but the songs so far (especially the ED) sounds amazing in a calming sort of way. Definitely worth looking out for.
Rating:
★★★★★ (out of 5)
Following?: No (but maybe the music?)

[space]

I S       ( I N F I N I T E    S T R A T O S)
Release Date: January 7th 2011
Company: 8-Bit  (Macross Frontier, etc)

Genres: Comedy, Harem, Romance, Science Fiction

Now this is my kind of anime – romance and comedy mixed with science fiction makes up an interesting combination. Hopefully the fan service won’t be so overwhelming that it takes away from the story itself (I don’t like too much WTF moments). The premise of women dominating the societal system appeals to me (GIRL POWER!). I’m also quite interested to see the action-packed IS fights. Unlike my co-founder, I am not driven off by the romance and am actually attracted towards it. Sci-fi, comedy, and especially a Harem romance makes for an interesting combination. I’m definitely watching.
Rating: ★★★★ (out of 5)
Following?: Yes

If you’ve ever seen Strike Witches, or Sky Girls, you will probably believe me if I decided to tell you that Infinite Stratos is the 3rd child of that family. Expect lots of fan-service by lots of thinly clad girls beside lots of machinery. Having stated that, however, I’m a little doubtful towards the success of this “3rd child”. In both Strike Witches and Sky Girls, Romance was not a huge factor in the plot. In both of these cases, only girls were able to operate the machinery at hand. In IS however, there is a guy involved, and thus, seems to suggest a lot of Romance. All of a sudden, I don’t feel comfortable watching this anymore…
Luckly, there are 2 lifesavers: Kana Hanazawa voicing a boy, and Yoko Hikasa (Mio of K-on!) singing the ED.
Rating: ★★★ (out of 5)
Following?: Yes (I’ll try…)

[space]

F R A C T A L E
Release Date: January 14th 2011
Company: A-1 Pictures, Ordet  (Haruhi Suzumiya, Lucky Star, etc)

Genres: Psychology, Science Fiction

Fractale? I’ve been referring to it for the past few days as Factale and no one corrects me. (Thanks a lot you two)
The scenery and landscapes of the trailer are absolutely stunning, though I can’t say the same about the people, but it could be because that I’m not used to it. I’ll check it out out of curiosity.
Rating: ★★★★★ (out of 5)
Following?: Sure

I don’t know, but it looks interesting
Rating: ? (out of 5)
Following?: Meh, yeah

YES YES YES~! Psychology > Romance!
And the art style is cool too!
PS: Haha Star-chan. (actually, I didn’t know that until I searched it up either…)
Rating: ★★★★★ (out of 5)
Following?: Yes!

[space]

W A N D E R I N G    S O N
Release Date: January 14th 2011
Company: AIC  (Ah! My Goddess!, Parasite Dolls, etc)

Genres: Drama, Slice-of-Life

Wow, the visual of this trailer is really stunning and intricate. The story seems very promising too. I am in need of drama in my daily diet and hopefully this shall satisfy it. As this winter preview post has come quite late, I’ve heard numerous positive reviews about the first episode of this anime, so it’s a must watch for me.
Rating: ★★★★★ (out of 5)
Following: Yes

Now this will be a REALLY GOOD anime (if AIC doesn’t mess it up), not only does it portray everyday life and all this ongoing traffic, but it also highlights on a person’s gender orientation. Not only this is very unique, it has an amazing storyline. Definitely what I’ve been looking for. (I recommend reading the manga too).
Rating: ★★★★★ (out of 5)
Following:
Yup

The pacing of the promotional video was kind of…interesting… The artwork reminds me of Sketchbook ~FullColors~, and the plot-line isn’t something I’ve seen before, although it somehow reminds me of Aoi Hana.
Plus, Slice-of-Life is always good to watch! Its nice, slow, and calming, and its nice to be able to tune in something like that at the end of the day.  As long as they keep any possible Romance to a minimum!
As well, the ED is being sang by Rie Funakoshi, who also sang Bleach’s “Life is Like a Boat” Two birds with 1 stone!
Rating: ★★★ (out of 5)
Following?: Possibly

[space]

H O K A G O    N O    P L E I A D E S
Release Date: February 1, 2011
Company: Gainax  (FLCL, Evangelion, etc)

Genres: Magical Girl?

Another girl that has a large similarity to Hinamori Amu in Shugo Chara!
Anyways, I shall probably be watching for the pretty visuals and the cute little blob figure.
Rating: ★★★ (out of 5)
Following?: Yes

CUTE GIRLS. Fujita Saki of Yozakura Quartet, Working!!, and Senk no Night Raid (I recommend based on my very biased opinion, Makino Yui of Angel Beats, Tsubasa Chronicles, and NHK. Nuff said.
Rating: ★★ (out of 5)
Following?: Yeh

Ok. So…
Not much is known about this one except for the fact thats its not actually an “anime”. Its a ONA (original net animation) which means that instead of coming out as a TV show with weekly episodes, this “anime” is coming straight here to the wonderful internet. On Youtube, to be exact.
What’s the story about? Hokago no Pleiades is a project between Gainax and Japanese car-company Subaru. The propose of the whole anime is to get people more interested in Subaru’s cars. Pleiades is the English name of the star cluster Subaru (which was the car-company’s namesake) so the anime may be about astronomy. Above all else, you can’t deny the possible originality this anime may end up showing. Having Makino Yui as part of the voice-cast definitely helps. I hope she sings at least one OP/ED for this!
Last question: Is the blob figure an baby octopus of sorts?

Rating: ★★ (out of 5)
Following?: Yes? Maybe? Yes?

[space]

S T A R R Y    S K Y       (S T A  ☆  S K A )
Release Date: February 3rd 2011
Company: Frontier Works  (Higurashi no Naku Koro ni, Maria-sama ga Miteru, etc)

Genres: Romance, Slice-of-Life

I have already watched the first two episodes of this anime and I was completely and utterly turned off by the character designs – Yoh-kun/Henri-kun ‘s eyes were kind of creepy, and I was especially annoyed at the fact that the bangs of the main character parts in between her eyes and is so long that its length is almost half of her face. Also, the setting I have a bone to pick with – an astronomy school, I get that, but an astronomy school that has only one girl in it? That’s just taking harem to extreme measures, seriously. From what I’ve seen, nothing seems to interest me, therefore I won’t watch it, unless it gets its act together and pull off something great once it switches to the 30 minute episodes.
Rating: (out of 5)
Following: No

Haha! Bishies! Not that I don’t like them, but making an anime out of a visual novel is a no no, especially a romance one, I think that we’ve seen enough of fail after Amagami and Togainu no Chi, right? I mean, not only that it doesn’t have enough story to be sufficient for an anime, it focuses on 12 different guys which I think would be better off if it was a reverse harem like Ouran Host Club….but no, that’s not how they’re gonna do it. I loved Higurashi (blood n’ gore), still, you gotta wait every week for 10min releases. I’ll watch it for the bishies…..and the voices.
Oh! I can’t believe I forgot to mention the awesome CV they’ve lined up for this little thing: Hiroshi Kamiya<3, Jun Fukuyama, Daisuke Ono, Daisuke Namikawa….what’s not to love but these big n’ sexy voices?
Rating: ★★(out of 5)
Following: Yes…sigh…

Umms…what?
I’m an automatic follower of anything Slice-of-Life like, but I not totally excited for this. I mean, I love astronomy-related stuff (sparkly stars!) but seriously? They’ve set up one boy per month with a different astronomy sign, which is somewhat of a resemblance to how TWGoK categorizes girls according to “anime type” (tsundere, shy, athletic, etc), but ONE boy PER month? I just can’t see how the plot will be like. Although it might be useful for those of you girls to get a boyfriend (search up his astrology sign, and watch the episode with the character of that astrology sign to figure out how you should act to get to him :D).
On the other hand, the trailer is just…WOW. So many effects! If anyone’s into AMV making, I think using this anime might be a good idea. I want Frontier Works to make all of my music videos now.
Rating: ★★★ (out of 5)
Following?:Probably Not (although I might consider it if I ever get a boyfriend ;P)

[space]

[space]

[space]

[space}

{Space]

Thats it for us!
Which animes are you looking forward to this season?

Comments on: "2011 ~ Winter Anime Season Preview" (3)

  1. You guys really narrowed the 2011 winter season down haha. I haven’t watched any of those you mentioned yet but there’s some on my 2watch list. Starry Sky was a bit disappointing for me so I’ll just wait for the 30m eps to come out.

    Good job and nice preview~

    • Thanks for the comment!

      We had to cut those that were second seasons of animes out because we don’t have time to watch all of them.
      It’s both good and unfortunate that all three of us have mostly the same tastes in anime, for we don’t get that much of variety. And we were kinda lazy so we didn’t preview the animes we weren’t really interested in..

      Speaking of Starry Sky, there’s 13 zodiac signs instead 12 now! So the concept of the show’s completely invalid xD.

  2. […] Magi is definitely very different from the normal Mahou-Shoujo animes. Although I had said in the Winter Season Preview post that I thought it would be just like any other Magical-Girl out there, Puella Magi Madoka […]

Leave a Reply

